Skip to content

A New York Times Thanksgiving

November 15, 2009

The dining section of the New York Times this week has a picture of two people in turkey suits standing face to face, one wielding a rolling pin and the other an all-clad fry pan. The headline declares, “You say potato. I say War!” The related articles are written as a culinary competition between two women over whether turkey or side dishes are more important to thanksgiving dinner. They manage to take the holiday that is named for the giving of thanks and turn it into a verbal food fight over which writer is more right. It kind of reminds me of the fight between Jesus and Santa in the original south park: the spirit of Christmas.

Thanksgiving can mean many things for different people. As the first two lines of one of the writers debate begins, “you know how it is with family during the holidays. One smart remark and someone leaves the table in tears.” I have heard people say things like this to me before. In fact it seems, now that I think about it, that I have met a lot of people who dread spending time with their families during holidays. Perhaps this turkey vs. sides debate is ludicrous to me because no one in my family ever yelled or cried at any thanksgiving dinner. Not for the first time, it seems that having a mostly functional family that loves each other has made me a bit of an oddball. So here is my interjection. What is more important than ever having turkey, gravy or pumpkin pie at thanksgiving? Spending time with the people that you love. At least, that’s what it should be. Be careful what you take for granted and don’t forget to count your blessings. And if you have little better to do on thanksgiving than debate whether a dry brined heritage farmed organic turkey is better than sweet potato with coconut and fiery thai spice or chanterelle and pear stuffing then I would say that you are blessed and have much to give thanks for. You say potato, I say thank you.

One Comment leave one →
  1. ryannl permalink
    December 23, 2009 10:41 pm

    This is my favorite post…so far. For the record.

    ryann

Leave a Reply

