Skip to content

heat & serve

March 23, 2010

I just read an article that said companies are now making ovens with “chicken nugget” buttons. That means that all you do is put the nuggets on a tray, press the button and the oven tells you when they are done. Every year we are in more of a hurry to eat food in less time. It is my goal to reduce this trend, this single button cooking. It is overwhelming trying to imagine even slowing down these trends of “heat & serve” eating, let alone trying to actually reverse them. I not only want to change how we perceive cooking, but try to change it in a way that is uplifting and inspiring rather than with the air of pretension so often espoused by the “foodie” culture. I want to convince the world to cook and embrace food.  I want to change the system through inspiration, but I don’t know how I am going to do it. I’ll just keep on doing what I’m doing as best as I can, but if you have any suggestions I could use some help. I don’t think I can change the world alone.

Here is a link to the aforementioned article :

Kitchen Gadgets Take the Fast-Food Mentality Into the Home

One Comment leave one →
  1. Divit permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:01 am

    The crazy thing is you can heat and eat real food in less time than the frozen nuggets! I roast a whole chicken and enjoy it the first night with short grained brown rice which I make plenty of. Over the next couple of days I make a salad with fresh greens, sliced chicken and a little brown rice. Sometimes I add a few Spanish or Greek olives for a little extra zip. You can also slice the breast meat and heat it in a pan then throw some spinach leaves in, they cook in about 30 seconds! Great with a little olive oil and lemon. Leftovers are great if you learn how to have fun with them, and they can create a quick meal that is not pre-fab crap.

Leave a Reply

