Skip to content

Idaho Day 1

August 16, 2010

Grilled Salmon with tomato/zucchini salad and herb flowers.

I just landed in Idaho for a 6 week stay. It is the first time since I left here in 2003 that I have returned to visit for more than a week. I love New York, but the 7 years there have started to wear on me and I am missing my family and simple things like swimming in the river and having a garden outside my back door. This trip is kind if a recon to see if I would really want to move back to Idaho. Or maybe if I am lucky I can find a way to have both Idaho and New York. That’s the dream.

So I arrived Sunday afternoon And was informed by my mother that I would be cooking dinner for everybody since my father is backpacking in the white clouds. The only time I get to cook in my fathers kitchen is when he is away, otherwise it is entirely his domain. My mom bought two nice filets of Wild sockeye salmon. I went to the garden and pick a few fresh zucchini, tomatoes and a bunch of herbs that were flowering. Dinner my first night was grilled salmon with herb flowers and tomato zucchini salad with basil and nasturtium. Not a bad way to live or a bad way to start a trip. In the next few weeks I hope to cure my own bacon, make my own cider, have an iron chef competition with my father and just generally have a kick ass time. Six weeks doing whatever I want? I suppose that will be OK.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    August 16, 2010 2:45 pm

    that sounds delicious. any chance you could stop over here for a few days?

  2. Erin permalink
    August 16, 2010 6:25 pm

    Looks beautiful. Glad to have you back for more than a New York minute. Hopefully some garden bounty cooking, river boogie boarding, and maybe camping(?!) is in our future.

Leave a Reply

