Skip to content

I made bacon

August 18, 2010

This week in Idaho I made my own bacon. I took two pieces of pork belly (raw bacon) rubbed one with salt and sugar and the other with salt and paprika, let them sit on the cure for 2 days, then hot smoked them with apple wood on the grill for an hour. I finished them with another hour in the oven at low heat. They came out great and it was really easy. I hope to try to make a raw cured ham or bacon sometime in the next month, but working with uncooked meat is a little more touchy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

