Skip to content

Iron Chef Cardoza: competition fennel

September 9, 2010

This weekend my father and I competed in an Iron chef battle against each other. My dad’s been cooking for longer than I have been alive, but I learned enough in the last 28 years to feel comfortable going head to head with the man who taught me how to taste. There’s a lot of stress going into one of these battles. The whole week before the cook-off my mind was constantly bombarded with ideas on what to cook. I kept notes for all my ideas and drew up possible menus. In spite of the stress of the competition I had a great time thinking up recipes and the cook-off itself was just a blast. I put together a little video here of the competition. I didn’t have a film crew or great equipment, but we got some fun video and a few good photos of the food. Our camera man was also our photo man, so sadly we did not get pictures of all the dishes before they were served. Here is the video I put together and below are a few favorite photos of the food and the competition. For those of you who couldn’t be here,  I’m sorry you missed it and I hope these will suffice.

Alex

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 12:49 pm

    That’s great and it looked sunny out too. I have one problem though. Knowing that you can appreciate the brown liquor, I’m surprised you didn’t do some type of deconstructed Sazerac. Dry ice…prop chef! also what was course 1 and 4.

    • learning life from scratch permalink*
      September 10, 2010 1:10 pm

      Course one I made a shaved fennel, arugula and lavender bean salad. my dad made a shaved fennel, pear, avocado salad with orange saffron reduction and some kind fennel cucumber juice. my salad won, his dish was a bit too over the top.
      course four I made grilled fennel and merguez sausage with dandelion greens. my dad made fennel crusted pork loin with fennel fries and homemade ketchup. his dish beat mine on course four. I did consider making a cocktail, but decided against it in the end.

  2. erin swenson permalink
    September 15, 2010 1:03 pm

    What an amazing spread. I would say culinary genius sums it up . Looked like lots of fun.

  3. Katrine Callahan permalink
    September 19, 2010 10:42 am

    Alex!! That looked like so much fun… such a jovial, fun and warm environment! I wish that I could have been a judge!! Life looks to be treating you really well, so glad to see that. Its been nice to catch up on your culinary adventures through this blog. I hope to see you the next time you are in the Seattle area. Happy Fall to you.

Leave a Reply

