Skip to content

How to make a frittata

February 10, 2011

I made this little video to show how to make a frittata. Frittatas are easy to make and don’t take long. you’re looking at about 15-20 minutes from start to finish. all you really need are eggs, cheese, herbs and a sautée pan, but you can also add any number of things. below are a few tips and a few ideas if you need a place to start.

When adding milk, cream or water, a good rule of thumb is to add about 1 teaspoon for every 2 eggs. As far as portions, you should assume about 2 eggs per person. It’s a good idea to have whatever you are going to add to the frittata room temperature or slightly warm. If something comes cold straight out of the fridge it might not heat all the way to the center while the frittata cooks. Things you add also shouldn’t be too hot because they might cook the eggs on contact. Adding foods warm is best. Here are a few tried and true combinations for good Frittatas.

– asparagus with swiss cheese (and ham if you like)

– potato, bacon and chive with cheddar

– sweet potato with caramelized onions and goat cheese

– Prosciutto with sweet peas and mint

– summer zucchini with tomato basil and parmeasn

any meat, herb, cheese or cooked vegetable combination that sounds good to you will work. give it a try and start making your own recipes as you see fit.

Frittata!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Gay Kelleher permalink
    February 10, 2011 7:56 am

    Thanks for including me in your mailing. I will forward this to my daughters. A great presentation and glad you showed a close up at the end. I will be trying this recipe on the weekend. Hey make a note for information only, my mom, your grandmother taught me to add water to my omelets, just as you add the cream. Another trick she taught me that has nothing to do with eggs but that I just thought of was to add ice water to the ingredients when make a pie crust. Have a great day!!!

    Gay

    • learning life from scratch permalink*
      February 10, 2011 12:11 pm

      Yes, i have heard that water is very effective, it’s what julia Child often used for eggs, but my dad taught me to use cream so I always have. let me know what you use and how it turns out!

  2. erin permalink
    February 10, 2011 11:21 am

    awesome! I love making fritattas or tortillas too! I seem to have a problem with rushing my eggs so thanks for the tips, al! I’m excited to make another one very soon.
    also- loved the video!
    ….what’s is the cellar?!

    • learning life from scratch permalink*
      February 10, 2011 12:09 pm

      hey, glad you liked it. the cellar contains a time machine which is why 5 minutes passed in just an instant!

  3. Rachel Binderup permalink
    February 10, 2011 5:59 pm

    I like that we are thinking alike I have been making frittatas lately and loving them!
    making one for valentines brunch! I hope you are well!
    xoxo
    Rachel

  4. erin swenson permalink
    February 14, 2011 6:53 pm

    I think I know what I am making for dinner. Great presentation! Thanks Alex.

Leave a Reply

