Skip to content

On Hiatus

April 14, 2011

In October 2010 I moved from NYC back to my home town in Boise Idaho for some food projects and to run a restaurant. I’ve been working and doing a lot of great things, but it has affected my ability to write for this site, so I’m going on hiatus for now. I started Learning Life From Scratch to keep myself writing and thinking about food and also to communicate with friends, family and some new people with similar passions. I’m still advocating passionate food and home cooking and all the information on this site is still available. If you are in Boise you can come visit me at the Red Feather lounge and as always you can always contact me via e-mail. learninglifefromscratch@gmail.com

Many people think that gourmets, true connoiseurs of eating and drinking, must possess great wealth… The wealthy are gourmets, if so, in spite of their riches. It is much easier to eat honestly if one is poor, and eats food prepared by cooks who must, at least occasionally, use their wits and their skills rather than the truffles and rare condiments of princely kitchens… I must eat to live; I want to live well; therefore I must eat well. And in these days of spurious and distorted values, the best way to eat is simply without affectation or adulteration.”

M.F.K Fisher, 1950

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 1:11 pm

    Obviously I want you to do what you want to do, but do you have to call it hiatus? Why not just post whenever you can? I haven’t been posting nearly as often lately, but I’m still going to try to when I can…

Leave a Reply

